Trim guards for painting windows

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I'm a novice DIYer with a heck of a lot of external windows to paint! I've been watching some youtube vids for tips on how to speed things up, and I want to get a trim guard so that I can paint quickly without getting paint onto the glass.

They don't seem to easiest things to find. I wondered how many people are using them for this kind of thing and whether anyone has suggestions/links to where to get one.

Cheers

Max

Sponsored Links
Thanks guys.

This is the video that inspired me to write:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PUB1IEFtGk&feature=endscreen&NR=1

I don't doubt that practise etc is what is really needed for good results and a professional approach. Trouble is, that seems to be so often the way with DIY. You do a job and by the end of the job you start getting good at it. But then the job is done and after a few months/years when you get to use those skills again you are back to square one.

I'm usually left at the end of a job thinking to myself "If only I could have done it like that when I first started the job"!

I think they used to call those things a George.

You must get through plenty of rag keeping cleaning the thing.

Sponsored Links
I think they used to call those things a George.

You must get through plenty of rag keeping cleaning the thing.

You could not be more correct, they were at one time known as a George, yet this was nothing more than a nickname for what is simply a painters aid.

Whilst I would never propher advice regarding their use they can be of great benefit to someone who finds it difficult to strike a clean crisp line with a brush.
Two of the most important things to take into account when using them is to apply even pressure and wipe clean before using again, so again you were right regarding a plentiful supply of rags.

Dec

DIYnot Local

Staff member