1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Tripped Switch - upstairs lights not working

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by pitbulluk, 12 Apr 2013.

  1. pitbulluk

    pitbulluk

    Joined:
    12 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good morning

    I wonder if someone can help me.

    I switched the bedroom lights on the other day and the chandelier lights bulbs blew and tripped the switch to the upstairs lights. I reset the switch to on, and it stays on, but the lights do not work upstairs.

    From reading I can gather that I need to test:

    1) power to switches
    2) power to ceiling rose
    3) change light bulbs

    But any other advice would be great.

    Also, would the circuit breaker need replacing?

    Thank you
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,612
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The first place to check is to see if there is mains voltage coming out of the MCB (trip switch)

    You'll need a test meter to do this.


    It is possible, although unlikely, that the MCB is faulty but that's th first place to check.

    Don';t go changing light bulbs. I cannot believe that every light bulb upstairs has gone poop at the same time ;)
     
  4. pitbulluk

    pitbulluk

    Joined:
    12 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you.

    I have the the test meter prongs that light up if there is power when you touch two wires. Is this what you mean?

    Also, how do I test the MCB, as I have looked at pulling the switch out (whilst power off) and it doesnt seem to come out?

    Cheers
     
  5. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,612
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am assuming that you a circuit breaker (MCB) and not a rewireable fuse?

    If so, they do not pull out as they are clipped in and also screwed to the LIVE busbar at the bottom.

    To test, carefully, one prod of your tester on the neutral busbar and one prod to the screw that you can see on the front at the top of the MCB.

    The tester should show about 230volts, That will prove that the MCB is switched on.

    If you see power there then the problem is elsewhere,
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. pitbulluk

    pitbulluk

    Joined:
    12 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry for my ignorance, but I have a plastic consumer unit with mcb's for each circuit that looked like their clipped in.

    Not sure what you mean by busbar. Do I need to take off the plastic cover or something?
     
  7. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,637
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yea undo that cover by turning those screws a 1/4 or 1/2 turn and then press the probe into the top screw of the mcb, this should light up your tester.

    If it doesnt touch the other probe onto the earth or neutral bars at the top of the consumer unit

    If you meter has more than one mode make sure, and then make sure it's set to voltage before you touch anything with either probe
     
  8. pitbulluk

    pitbulluk

    Joined:
    12 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    aha....cool :cool:

    I will post back my findings tomorrow!

    Cheers guys, you've been very helpful.
     
  9. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whats wrong with this picture?

    We have someone here totally unfamiliar with the internals of a CU, who probably does not have GS38 compliant test equipment, and we're advising him to remove the cover of a CU which may not have a busbar shield and start poking around inside.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. flyingsparks

    flyingsparks

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2004
    Messages:
    1,300
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My thoughts exactly bas.
     
  12. pitbulluk

    pitbulluk

    Joined:
    12 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I take it I shouldnt open it then? ;)
     
  13. AllowAllGarages

    AllowAllGarages

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What test equipment do you have?
     
  14. pitbulluk

    pitbulluk

    Joined:
    12 Apr 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. pjcomp

    pjcomp

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Taking the cover off the CU will not help if you don't know how to use this tester or understand what the results tell you. Put it away and call in someone.

    PJ
     
  16. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  17. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would advise not.
     
Loading...

Share This Page