trying to fit Trendi tv aerial socket - but unusual connection clasp and weird set up!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi, I have bought a Trendi TV socket as we're changing over all the switches, plug sockets in the front room and thought it would look good to have a matching tv aerial one as well, but it has a very unusual configuration!

Firstly, i'm not an electrician but having put new TV sockets in our previous house I thought this time would be the same.........

Having taken the old one out I noticed there are 2 aerial leads wrapped together (see image) going into the old socket "should be fine says I, i'm sure the new one will have a similar setup".

And then I took the Trendi one out of its packaging and noticed it has the strangest set up (see images from different angles and with the "hood" pulled up & clipped down). there's no way i can get the 2 aerial cables into it!

The instructions that came with it relate to the light switch so they're no good and the Trendi website has zero info about it.

Ditching it isn't an option so wondering if anyone might know how I can get around having 2 aerial cables - is it possible to somehow link them before they have to go into the small
housing? I don't mean somewhere else in the house as they're buried in the walls, but ideally link/join them just before they go into the socket clasp.

I'm really at my wits end so any suggestions / help very much appreciated!

Sponsored Links
full

Assuming both cables are still required, can you not fit both cores in the terminal and the clamp over the braiding?

Or have I misunderstood?

Could you not join to another piece of co-ax by putting the three cores in one end of a connector block and taping the three cables/braiding together.

Sponsored Links