Turbo repair issues

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. I'm looking for some advice after using a local garage to replace a turbo on a 2015 Qashqai. The car was booked in due to an unpleasant turbo metallic noise and it was expected that a new turbo would be required and i was happy with the quote. I managed to carefully coast the car with very little throttle to the garage as i was aware that that a turbo failure could cause problems (but i am not a mechanic). I had requested a lift home and the garage opted to use my car for the journey (which included a long steep hill). The car struggled up the hill and then overheated causing the engine to bang/steam. They replaced the turbo but i'm left with an oil leak from the rocker cover and reduced power/acceleration. I've tried to discuss this with the garage owner but he will not accept any fault and his response was "I was a F**ing idiot for allowing them to drive me home in my car" and told to "F*** off". Which was nice. It is now going to main dealer for investigation. I'm not a mechanic and i've no idea what a car with a faulty turbo is capable of. Thoughts?

Sponsored Links
All we can really do is speculate, unfortunately.....there’s no reason for a dud turbo to cause overheating and turbo’s, if on their way out tend to belch smoke. Was the noise the only clue?
You’ll need to see the old turbo and look for score marks where the turbine impeller has contacted the aluminium body.
If the engine overheated to such a degree I’d be surprised if the cylinder head gasket was still intact but that is reasonably easy to check.
I guess your engine is the 1.5 dci? The turbo is a variable vane type and must be exactly matched to the engine for full performance. The rocker cover is plastic and easily cracked.