TV hanging advice/comfort

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Evening all,

Wondering if you could help/reassure me in relating to an issue I've had today trying to hang my tv off the wall.

I recently moved into a new semi detached house (built in 2006) and so I'm still learning where thins run, what wall are made if what etc. I'm looking to hang the tv on the wall in the living room that connects to my neighbour (tv weighs about 14kg) but I'm having a bit of a mare with it:

1) knocked on the wall and it sounded like a stud wall, seemed strange so I drilled a small pilot hole (after using cable/pipe finder). After about 20mm plaster, I hit a void.
2) after finding the void, I drilled a 13mm for a stud wall clamp but whilst tightening the 3inch bolt (supplied with the wall mount) I found that the void was only about 30mm deep then I hit brick, so couldn't properly use the wall clamp.
3) after finding the brick I drilled about 40mm into the brick with a 9mm bit to use the brick fittings provided.
4) to fill the void and extra 4mm gap from the first hole, I've bunged the whole lot with no more nails and stuck the wall plug in as far as I can. I'm leaving overnight to set.

My questions would be, do you think this would support the weight of half the tv (about 7kg) and what would be the best approach be to the 2nd hole I'll be doing later,assuming I run into the same wall conditions.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the reply and the info on dot & dab - never heard of that before. The bodge appears to holding so far so I guess the job's a good 'en :confused:

For future reference what us the best way of putting something on dot & dab; drill as deep as you can, lots of no more nails and hope?

Cheers