Type of earthing to sub-board

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a retired electrician and I have build a new extension to my house (brick building) and as this will contain several electrical items (washing machine/dishwasher/tumble dryer etc) I have run a new 3 core 10mm SWA cable from the mains position at the front of the house to this new room at trhe rear of the building. In this extension room (that is attatched to the main house) I am installing a CB Board with it's own circuit breakers for ringmain/lights & boiler etc. I am proposing to use the third core of this SWA as the earth between the mains incomming supply and the new extension CB Board. My questions are:-

1. Should I fit an RCD to the existing mains board to supply this sub-board?
2. As the copper pipework runs through the house to all radiators and water system and is currently bonded should I cross bond the 2nd incomming water supply in the new extension to the sub-board ? (The new watermain in the new extension is a PVC main).
3. I assume that if I do install a RCD in the mains board the SWA sheath should be bonded at the mains board end only - and should not be bonded to the earth ternimal in the sub-board, is that correct.
4. Would it be better to fit the RCD into the sub-board rather than the mains board?

Since I retired, I am aware that the regs have changed concerning earthing - hence my questions.

Sponsored Links
JohnD will be along in a minute, practically advertising RCBOs. Until then . . .

1. It is generally taken that RCD protection should be as local as possible. So it would be best to have the RCD in the submain CU rather than the origin.