UFH Electric - Instant trip

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone

Been scouring the Forum looking a miracle I think

So Iv got a house that had already installed underfloor heating that was working fine. Had some things done in the house and when cutting an only laminate piece out that was stuck the flooring guy has damaged the UFH. The damage was clear to see. So twisted the wires back together with a hope of putting the system on checking its working fine problem is the second the UFH turns on it immediately trips the electric

Tried soldering the wires together and wrapping in electrical tape but see getting same result, abit lost on why its not working, im no electrician so I know the obvious answer is get one in, but getting one in on short notice is no easy feat

I have attached a picture of the type of wire thats been cut

Thanks in advance for any ideas

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    548.7 KB · Views: 106
Sponsored Links
Welcome to DIYnot.
Is that bare wire we're looking at? Where's the insulation?
Thats the wire thats contained within the foil sheets, iv peeled them back to get to the damaged wire. The damaged wire is at the top of the loop, you can’t really tell from the picture but the wire is costed in like a clear plastic

Sponsored Links
Lets have a look at your mend. Specifically, how many wires did matey cut and are you sure there is no other damage
my mend looks shocking (excuse the pun) Theres two wires per loop and he’s cut through x4 ( top of two loops).

Iv only done the bodge job on it now to test the circuits working. I will get a repair kit and do a ‘proper’ job on it if ai manage to get it on without the fuse tripping out

Im fairly certain theres no damage elsewhere, iv pulled some laminate up but it came straight up, no visible damage to any other foil and no tools or cutting was done anywhere else apart from here at the bottom step

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    578.2 KB · Views: 87