Under Floor Heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have just connected to my central heating system a JG ufh Single Room Heating Pack which was laid in my extension that I have been buidling for the last 12-18 months. I installed in independantly from the rest of the house so that it can come on by itself via it's own motorised valve & programmable room stat.

For ease I broke into the flow & return just before / after the boiler in the kitchen. The main central heating pump & HW / CH valves are upstairs in the airing cupboard.

The problem I'm having is that the main CH pump which forces the hot flow from the boiler to the CH & HW & then back to the boiler as the return, is forcing hot water up the "return" pipe from my ufh kit. As the ufh kit only turns on when the flow reaches 40 degrees this does not happen. By bypassing the flow switch in the ufh kit with a specific electrical link in the box, the pump fires up & in an instance drags the water round in the correct direction.

Should I have taken the flow & return up to the airing cupboard & connected there? And is a loop at the end of the loop not the done thing?

Sponsored Links
Er, well you haven't connected it right, then. :confused:
You're taking the flow for the UFH AFTER the rads??
No motorised valve?
It should be like this:
57395261.gif

no, I have not connected the flow for the ufh kit after the rads.

I said I installed it independantly of the central heating & hot water, with it's own motorised valve & programmer.

Instead of connecting in the airing cupboard after the pump adjacent to the ch & hw motorised valves I connected for ease near the boiler. The motorised valve though is adjacent to the ufh kit for ease of future maintenance. Therefore this loop at the end of a loop does not flow like I thought it would.

Novice speaking: