Understairs cupboard removal

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All first post so Hello to all.

If this is not in the right area feel free to move :)

I'm looking at opening up the understairs cupboard so we have a bit more room but more importantly to make it look lighter. Just a couple of questions as I'm fairly new to DIY and don't want to end up wrecking my house!

The cupboard seems to be contructed from plywood or something like that and I'm assuming its all just attached to a wooden "frame" and then has a door to access the space under the stairs. Could I be pretty sure that this would not have any structural properties? It sounds very hollow and looks like its just there to make a cupboard rather than hold up anything other than the door.

Also when in the cupboard the sloping part that is currently plastered and papered over (in some 60's flowered paper!!) stops and then goes vertically until it meets the floor. Would there be any problem with me removing the plasterboard and continuing the slope right down to the first step so there is more "open space"??

Thanks very much and apologies for the simple questions!

Sponsored Links
The cupboard seems to be contructed from plywood or something like that and I'm assuming its all just attached to a wooden "frame" and then has a door to access the space under the stairs. Could I be pretty sure that this would not have any structural properties? It sounds very hollow and looks like its just there to make a cupboard rather than hold up anything other than the door.

Not structural - just take it to bits (rip it apart).

Also when in the cupboard the sloping part that is currently plastered and papered over (in some 60's flowered paper!!) stops and then goes vertically until it meets the floor. Would there be any problem with me removing the plasterboard and continuing the slope right down to the first step so there is more "open space"??

Yes - no problems there.