Understanding my leccy setup in kitchen

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm a network tech and my Dad is a retired electrical fitter so a bit out of date. I have a sparky I can ask but wanted some comments first.

Ok, my (new to me) 70s build flat had a periodic inspection as part of my purchase. It needed a new fuse board and RCD as it had a power shower fitted and had not been updated. I have the report, it shows 6mm cable for a "Cooker" circuit and 32amp fuse. Should this be 45Amp?

There is a circuit for the kitchen sockets which also seems to do the living room sockets!

The hob is running from a cooker switch above the hob.

The oven (single), washing machine (when i get one!) are all running from a couple of doubles UNDER the sink (!). I am replacing the hob and oven, the oven is going to be a 16Amp rated hard wired model (Bosh).

I want a pukka setup, so what do I need to do and what does my sparky need to do under Part P?? Is there anything my Dad can do? Should we blank of the hob switch and put a switch in elsewhere or can we run a feed from the existing hob switch to the cooker?

To comply with Park P, should he issue a certificate cos he put in an extractor fan in the kitchen and bathroom and I did'nt even get a receipt? He said the work was to spec and is covered under my inspection report.

Any suggestions on what I should get done?

Thanks. :D

Sponsored Links
Ok, my (new to me) 70s build flat had a periodic inspection as part of my purchase. It needed a new fuse board and RCD as it had a power shower fitted and had not been updated. I have the report, it shows 6mm cable for a "Cooker" circuit and 32amp fuse. Should this be 45Amp?
No 32Amp MCB is more than sufficient for most ovens and hobs. The cable size and MCB is determined by the kw rating of the appliance(s).

There is a circuit for the kitchen sockets which also seems to do the living room sockets!