Understanding of Part P

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am replacing a single socket with 2 doubles in a bedroom I am renovating. I have found out that the wires under the floor actually serve the kitchen and alarm system, the previous socket was spurred off the cable to the alarm. Both the Kitchen and alarm are also on the same circuit as the main bedroom, loft and upstairs hall. This is labelled as 'ground floor socket' RCD 63a fuse in the CU. If I break into this ring and add my 2 New sockets would I be right in saying this is NOT notifable work? As it is an alteration to a circuit not in a special location.

My other option was to make a new ring on an new 63A RCD incorporating the 2 New sockets and the one on the landing to attempt to restore some balance - but I believe this IS notifiable?

Can anyone who is familiar with this confirm or correct me. As an engineer I am always willing to DIY although I know electrics are more of a sensitive subject especially when selling

Sponsored Links
Sounds like someone has been playing with it. Alarm should be on its own circuit.

A spur should not be spurred and feeding other things. The thing most people will be aware of is the diversity factor, meaning that it will be unlikely to be a problem regarding overloading, but you need it to be correct.

sounds like it's already been added and added and ideally could do with it all being sorted and identified.

I am replacing a single socket with 2 doubles in a bedroom I am renovating. I have found out that the wires under the floor actually serve the kitchen and alarm system, the previous socket was spurred off the cable to the alarm.
Well, it is more likely that the alarm is spurred off the socket circuit - are you sure it is not on a lighting circuit?

Both the Kitchen and alarm are also on the same circuit as the main bedroom, loft and upstairs hall. This is labelled as 'ground floor socket' RCD 63a fuse in the CU.