1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Upgrading electric shower - need for cable upgrade or not

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by tramsden, 16 Jan 2011.

  1. tramsden

    tramsden

    Joined:
    16 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I need to improve my shower. I'm considering replacing a 8.5Kw triton t80 with a 10.8Kw mira orbis. The current professionally install has a 40A RCD, would I be ok just to replace the fuse to a 45A RCD and use the existing wiring. I have read that some times this is ok on shorter runs. The consumer is high on ground floor toilet wall, whilst the shower is on first floor and the cable enters bathroom from ceiling in to partition wall.

    Please bear with my multiple post I'm gathering knowledge to find the best solution for my situation.

    Tony
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,382
    Thanks Received:
    2,704
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on the size and length of the existing cable, but for that kind of power jump it may well need upgrading
     
  4. wingcoax

    wingcoax

    Joined:
    1 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    1,948
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To start with. what size cable do you have now? You should also be aware that this work (replacing mcb in fuseboard(CU)and cable) is notifiable. If you do need to upgrade the cable(should be 10mm t and e) you would probably be cheaper using a "Qualified" sparks.
     
  5. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    63,619
    Thanks Received:
    4,530
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Whilst I appreciate that the cable/MCB upgrade should be done by a qualified electrician, I dont see how that can ever be cheaper than an illegal DIY job!

    Joe 90
     
  6. 1john

    1john

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3,351
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheaper still to do it illegally and not upgrade the cable







    (not advisable, highly dangerous)
     
  7. riveralt

    riveralt

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You will probably need a 10mm^2 T&E cable depending on length of the run and whether the cable goes through insulation with a (45Amp MCB as per manufacturers instructions)
    You might get away with 6mm^2 T&E with a maximum current carrying capacity is 47Amps when clipped direct but best to stick with 10mm
    They don't make a 45A RCD - I think you mean MCB - but you will need the circuit protected by a 30mA RCD.
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page