Use of lights on a 5 amp circuit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I am moving into a new house which has 5 amp circuits in the living room and bedroom. I have a few questions about this as I have no experience of 5 amp circuits.
1. Am I able to change the plug on any lamp to the 5 amp round pins? Or are some lamps not suitable?
2. Can I use LED bulbs in the lamps?
3. Is there anything else I need to be aware of or that would be useful in dealing with this type of lighting set up?

Sponsored Links
Hello, I am moving into a new house which has 5 amp circuits in the living room and bedroom. I have a few questions about this as I have no experience of 5 amp circuits.
1. Am I able to change the plug on any lamp to the 5 amp round pins? Or are some lamps not suitable?
2. Can I use LED bulbs in the lamps?
3. Is there anything else I need to be aware of or that would be useful in dealing with this type of lighting set up?

5 amp sockets (controlled by a light switch) are brilliant because you can use table lamps etc by turning on a light switch from the door or whatever - whereas normally you wouldn't both using them.

Very convenient so you can select which lights you have on.

1) Any light with a standard 13 amp plug can be changed for a 5 amp one. Any lower voltage light with a transformer combined in the 13 amp can't be used (without major work and expense anyway).
2) LED lighting can be used, assuming you don't have a dimmer as a wall switch which isn't compatible with your LEDs.
3) The only other thing I can think of is if you like to use a table lamp on a timer as a deterrent when you're on holiday, you may have a problem - so maybe leave one light with a 13 amp plug that you can plug into a timer.

3) The only other thing I can think of is if you like to use a table lamp on a timer as a deterrent when you're on holiday, you may have a problem - so maybe leave one light with a 13 amp plug that you can plug into a timer.

Sponsored Links