using lighting circuit to run 2 different led's

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi this is my first time on the forum. I wish to remove my ceiling pendant light and run 2 sets of low voltage led's (each with their own transformer) from the existing light circuit. My problem is that the transformer for one of the leds is built into the plug and for various reasons (too complex to to go into now) cannot put a plug socket into the ceiling. Access from above is limited but I have cut a small hole in the plasterboard near the joists so one of my light sources (for fibre optic) can go above the ceiling and onto a joist.

My question is can I put a plug socket onto the joist above the plasterboard near my light source? I would also then need a spur from that plug to power the second transformer (that bit is easy can cut the plug off and wire directly if needs be). Its a 3 storey house so there is no insulation by the joists presenting fire risk.

Also the DC lead from the transformer is not that long and have been advised by supplier not to extend it (presumably because of voltage drop).

Any help greatly appreciated

Sponsored Links
Could you not dump the led plug wart and use a driver, http://www.ledhut.co.uk/led-driver-transformers.html?gclid=CNWJgs7xyLECFRMgtAodKxAAgg

You can then wire it direct to the SL-N-E already available.

Plug sockets can't go directly from a light circuit LNE since a numpty might put a 13 amp load through a 6 amp lighting circuit. If you must then a fspur with a 3 amp fuse should sit between the lighting circuit and the socket.

There is also the issue of access to the socket.

If you could elaborate on the type of led lights and post links maybe the same stuff could be got as bare components allowing you to get the LEDs, and driver as separate items and wire direct to the existing wiring?