1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Vaillant eco tec plus 637 not communicating with thermostat

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by vegasgo, 22 Sep 2014.

  1. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys, came home from a weekend away to find out our house had been hit by lightening. We have no hot water/heating from our eco tec plus 637. The wired thermostat showed 'com err' (communications error). The boiler itself seems ok but is displaying errors S.0 (no request for hot water) and S.7 (pump over run). The control box green light is flashing slowly (ebus issues). We have replaced the thermostat and control box but the fault continues. My engineer is stumped. Would really appreciate any advice, thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    63,740
    Thanks Received:
    4,547
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Without doing tests on your boiler I don't see how anyone is going to be able to do anything other than guess at what may be wrong. That could result in expensive parts changing with no guarantee of success.

    Vaillant do a fixed price repair for about £300.

    Tony
     
  5. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The concept of forums like these is to ask questions and give answers. I am a member of many and do my best to offer help where I can. I have had an engineer in, and he's stumped. Even his hotline to top-line Vaillant support couldn't help. I'm here to see if anyone has ever experienced similar issues and what their outcome was.
     
  6. jackthom

    jackthom

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    1,342
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have ebus connected controls, after totally powering off the boiler I'd be inclined to disconnect them and then try a wire link between terminals 3 & 4 to see if that fires up the boiler.
     
  7. Bunnyman

    Bunnyman

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2010
    Messages:
    5,491
    Thanks Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lol sorry top line vaillant support :eek: there no such thing I'm afraid only customer service with computer manuals.. Best be is the vaillant repair fixed. Price, u may need a pcb S0 is not so good
     
  8. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    jackthom - yes, connecting wires 3 and 4 does make the boiler run. Does that mean the pcb would be ok?
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. jackthom

    jackthom

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    1,342
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the boiler is behaving normally with that loop connection it means at least the pcb isn't totally wrecked. There must be some damage to the board though.

    If necessary you could carry on using the boiler with a more bog standard room thermostat connected to terminals 3 & 4, provided you can be sure it's running as it should and not misbehaving (overheating for example).
    Depends what external controls you are using and whether ebus is essential for your system.
     
  11. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    63,740
    Thanks Received:
    4,547
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did the stumped engineer not assertain that?

    The usual procedure with computers and heating systems is to go back and test in the most basic operating conditions.

    Tony
     
  12. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Connecting terminals 3 and 4 is one of the first things the engineer did. He phoned Vallaint and they couldn't provide an answer re ebus/com err.

    Having replaced the thermostat and controller, If I replace the pcb would that mean pretty much cover all electrics issues, or are there further electrics involved somewhere?

    I really want the original setup all working as it should having already replaced the thermostat and control box, and not try a new thermostat if i can, thanks.
     
  13. jackthom

    jackthom

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    1,342
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The wiring from the control unit goes direct to the boiler pcb, so provided the pair of wires are still properly connected, the fault would have to be with the pcb.

    Unfortunately the board itself is around £160 (although some saving is possible via ebay) so with fitting costs added to this, the flat fee Vaillant would charge for getting the boiler fixed begins to look a bit more attractive.
     
  14. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    £300 fixed fee from Vaillant would normally be ok, but having already spent £450, would prefer to buy a pcb from ebay and get my engineer to fit it and hope that cures it.
     
  15. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Vaillant came ... it was the pcb after all.
     
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page