Vaillant Eco Tec plus 837 Setup help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, first thing i am an domestic appliance engineer and gas safe registered but don't do boilers, fires and cookers only, last year we moved into our first house that has had a new boiler a bout 3 years ago, its a 28kw eco tec plus 837, now its only a small house and i believe its was oversizes as the last owner had intensions to extend but moved instead

although the boiler runs happy im convinced its not 100% happy, after looking into everything iv found its massively over rated, based on calcs our house should need 15kw, based on the sizes of the 7 radiators fitted they come to a total of 29,000 but which calculates to 8.5kw.

obviously we are massively over rated, been in the boiler settings and d.0 was set to 28 so it was on max, i have no dropped it to 16, iv also extended the pump over run as 5 mins did not seem long enough.

i know this is a modulating boiler so should sort its self out to a point but frim the spec it stated at 60 degree its range is 12 - 28 on the central heating, is that the min and max modulation rate ?

Any suggestions on best settings to get the most out of this

thanks in advance [/b]

Sponsored Links
You have a 28kW boiler, but only need 15kW to heat the house. You also only have 8.5kW of rads. That sounds crazy.

How did you size the boiler? Did you use the Whole House Boiler Size Calculator?

How did you work out the rad outputs? Stelrad Elite Catalogue is useful.

Yes, 12kW is the minimum output and 28kW the maximum. If you only need 15kW, your boiler will spend most of its time switching on and off as it will only need more than 12kW when the outside temperature is below approx 3-4C.

Yep i sized the boiler from that chard and the calcs sheet you posted put me at 9.6kw a bit more that how i worked it out but im still well under.