Vaillant ecoTec- Can't pressurise with internal filling loop

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, newbie here.

I inadvertently depressurised the DHW system by fiddling with the pressure release valve, so I now get an f.28 on my ecoTec combi.
There was no manual when I moved into the house last year, so a bit of hunting on here revealed that this model has an internal filling loop. Great, I thought - so I followed this, but I don't hear any pressurisation occuring!

Basically, underneath the boiler at the front, there is a brass cube connected to the DHW return, with a silver-braid pipe going up into the boiler. I turned the grub screw on this, but no joy. The silver-braid pipe seems to connect to some sort of test point with a X head fitting (haven't touched this) and then back up into the boiler near the PRV at the far right.

Does anyone know, is there another valve that I need to open to get pressure back into the system?

Thanks in advance!

Bert

Sponsored Links
There should be 2 black levers on the filling loop, one at each end

Alas, not. This system doesn't have the filling loop exposed. It's all inside the case.

I suspect that there *is* another valve somewhere, I'm just not sure where! ;)
I've found the installation manual on the Vaillant website, but no immediately obvious solutions.....I'll report back if I crack it.

This would be an early version of ecoTEC. The later versions have two grey coloured knobs on the base of the unit.

You need to open two sets of brass 90 degree screws, at either end of the braided pipe. It is often easier to remove the lower plastic slatted grille for access, as the cutouts do not always accurately line up with the filling loop.

On the units of the last 24 months this has been addressed, it now has the easiest filling loop in the business.

Sponsored Links
This would be an early version of ecoTEC. The later versions have two grey coloured knobs on the base of the unit.