Vaillant or Worcester ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi
After trying to understand the pros and cons of various combi boilers It has come down to a vaillant pro24 or a Worcester greenstar 25i
I have a 2 bed terraced house one bathroom and will be installing a shower over the bath so hopefully the above mentioned boilers will give me a good flow at the shower.
Or should I go for the next size up ?
I did read about Worcester having a aluminium heat exchanger is this something I should be taking in consideration when making my choice ?
Has anyone any comments on the better of the two (or others)

It will be a replacement for a back boiler and a old hot water tank etc

Sponsored Links
I am no expert but on the advice of others on this forum have just had an Intergas fitted and I am very happy with it.

Before I start I am biased.

But Vaillant for me. Most people have gone off of worcter in general for a number of reasons.

Intergas have their place, but I would have no confidence in their manufacturers back up, They make less boilers over here in a year than the big make do in a few weeks.

If gas supply and budget isnt an issue, hand you have at least an average water pressure in the house, I would strongly advise to go for the pro 28 as a minimum.

A 24kw boiler (regardless of make) will give a pretty unimpressive flow rate at the hot taps, 28 wont blow your socks off but it much more useable, had a 24kw for years and in the winter when the cold mains into the property is really cold you need to run the hot tap at a trickle.

Thanks for your comments
I can get a vaillant pro24 with flue/filter/chemicals for £829 + vat
The pro 28 is £919 is it worth the extra as this is really the top end of my budget
Funny enough the Worcester is slightly more expensive
Any thoughts on the viessmann (29kw for £709 + vat) with flue, filter etc
And what about s/steel vs aluminium heat exchanger ?

Sponsored Links