1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Vaillant VRC 470F how difficult to install?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by waveuk, 22 Jun 2014.

  1. waveuk

    waveuk

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am replacing my boiler and I want also to update the controller to the VRC 470F. Would this require more work for the engenier than installing any other controller?

    The engineer is telling me they need to run some wires but what I understand from the manual is that is quite straight forward and it does not required any wire at all. Receiver is just plugged into the boiler.

    Tx
     
  2. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    10,528
    Thanks Received:
    2,005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Should be just plug and play
     
  3. TCCHeating

    TCCHeating

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    2,883
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When the new ecotecs came out some of the controls were not compatible with the plug and play so they did need to be wired in using ebus and the back box supplied. Old boilers are 4 pin female whereas the new boilers are 3 pin male as far as i recollect! (I remember there was a big fuss about this when the new ecotecs were released. Shame on vaillant to release a boiler without updating the controls)! So your installer is half right! However they soon changed the recievers so that they now have removeable pins on the back so that they now fit both new and old. No wireing should be needed with the new stock.

    Ps. Your installer may be thinking that the outdoor sensor needs to be wired in, but it doesn't. It is wireless and has a built in solar panel so no batteries or cables are needed for it either

    ;)
     
  4. waveuk

    waveuk

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks!
     
  5. waveuk

    waveuk

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I talked with the engineer again and he says that what needs to be wire is not the weather compensator but the eBus to HW. I have a quite old vented system and boiler is replaced by a system boiler + unvented.

    Any thoughts?
     
  6. gazdaz36

    gazdaz36

    Joined:
    28 May 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You would need a vaillant wiring centre as well
     
  7. ALEC1

    ALEC1

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    9,496
    Thanks Received:
    717
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes the wiring centre needs a cable between the boiler and the valves...usually there is one...

    the power for the wiring centre then comes from another socket

    There may even be a 5 wire connection between the boiler and valves...it all depends...
     
  8. GuessMan

    GuessMan

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    1,715
    Thanks Received:
    783
    Location:
    By the seaside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :oops: missed the system boiler bit!
     
Loading...

Share This Page