value of my time : quoting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Im just starting out as a plumber and have been asked by a mate to move a sink and a radaitor.

Whilst i dont wanna rip him off, i dont wanna sell myself too cheap. Im not in for undercutting current market values and want to know what i should charge as a daily rate or price per job.
The job is in a cloak room and it involves removing the floorboards so i expect it would take the best part of the day.

any help would be gratefully appreciated

thanks

SuperPLumber

Sponsored Links
what are your overheads ?
what are you happy to call a daily rate ?
remember that your tax and n.i has to come off.

pricing is the worst part of the job
even worse when for family or friends.

the jobs that look the easy always turn out to be a pig. :evil:

Sponsored Links
dont mix buisness and pleasure, never work for family or friends. I learnt the hard way.

Just sittin at home doing feck all will leave you better off than starting this job.

People think that because that know a plumber they never have to pay for things like that ever again!

There is a simple solution!

Just make it clear that you ALWAYS charge full prices to family and friends so they may want to consider getting someone else to do it for them.

You could easily get a full time job doing things free for your friends.

However, because you are starting its not fair to charge on a time basis because you are going to be slow. The usual day rate for an experienced person is about £150-£200 so if you charged about half that it might be about right until you gain enough experience to do things a lot quicker.

Tony

Thanks Tony,

thats the most sensible insight into my dilema out of the chaff that has accumulated on the topic.

Ive tried to break down the job into what is plumbing and what is generaly diy.