various questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am at the info gathering stage at the moment (intend to do the work approx 2 mnths time) and have read quite a lot of the threads so far for the background info.

Background, I am refurbishing an old water mill which was renovated approx 1975. Although the wiring is in very good condition its a bit untidy and doesn't seem particularly well planned out. It is run off 3 old wylex boards, situated next to each other. I am pretty sure I know what I want to do, but I would like a bit of advice. The building is currently split into two, the other side requires complete refurbishment including wiring.

My background is electrical engineering (however I haven't been a practising engineer for about 8years) - and this was industrial electrics not domestic.

The overall aim is to:

- install a 16a welding socket into the garage, this is also to double up as a generator infeed for the house electrics in the event of power failure
- remove the 3 wylex boards and replace with one CU
- rewire the other side of the building with its own CU,

The house is, as far as I can tell, a TT system, but there isn't an RCD - yet.

Work intended (probably in order, this is the easiest/ safest way it would be for me), and council permission that I think I need:

1. Install a isolator between the meter and wylex boards, including henleys. The old boards will then be reconnected to the henleys with 25mm tails (they are currently a lot thinner). I don't believe that this is part P covered

2. Install a 4mm SWA cable through a fuseable isolator to the garage, feeding from the henleys. This will then act as a welding socket, and (if I isolate the henleys from the grid) I can connect a generator up to the house boards (if this makes sense). I don't believe that this is part P covered.

3. Change the old wilex boards to a new CU. crimping the cables to extend where necessary. I don't believe that this is part P covered