Pub Wiring done wrong?...please read carefully

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
HI Everybody!!!

Need some help asap really: (sorry what follows is rather long)

Where I work as a KP, the wiring situation is as follows:

Supply comes in, underground cable single phase-looks like TNCS or TNS.

From meter, tails go to Wylex RCD 100ma trip-not time delayed by looks of it- possibly from the 80s if not before according to head chef.

Tails from RCD go to big Henley block.

From Henley block several sets of tails:

1 set to a CU feeding the flat above with 100ma RCD main switch

1 set to a CU feeding other things with mains switch, no RCD at all

1 set feeding a Wylex switchfuse with fuse feeding cellar CU marked 'SUB MAINS TO CELLAR'

1 set feeding another Wylex 2 way CU, not sure what though.

Cellar CU is Proetus with RCD main switch and another CU directly joined on to it? This had a 30ma RCD in it and since a good few months someone from Robinsons Brewery has fitted a 100ma Wylex RCD (different brand!) in place of the 30ma due to nuisance tripping by what I've been told!!!!

About 20 MCBs in the cellar CUs altogether!

No 30ma RCDs anywhere and the CUs in question supply ground floor sockets!!! and were fitted about five years back.

Had tripping on kitchen sockets tonight just been and both RCDs in the Proteus and old Wylex both tripped.

I suggested to the owners to get on to the brewery about this since there are RCDs in series and a main one not possibly needed now that trips the entire building?

Can anybody else on this shed some light please since a few things here seem wrong to me?

Sponsored Links
It seems like there are two issues here.

The first is the lack of discrimination, one fault could easilly trip that main RCD and take out everything.