Ventilation for new concrete floor...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

This is my first post here and I'm fairly new to building/renovation so please excuse me if I get any terms wrong :)

We have a large house which we are reconstructing in South Bohemia (Czech Republic) and have come across some differing opinions about how we ventilate a new concrete floor. I will try to explain the current situation and the proposed solutions and would really appreciate it if people could give me pros and cons of each method.

For some background to this, the weather in Czech can be quite hot in the summer, up to 35 degrees, and very cold in the winter down to -20 degrees.

The house has been changed many time over the years and when we dug up the existing floor we found that it had been built up with earth above the level of the original damp proof course which has caused the brickwork to get very damp. We have dug a trench all the way around the room to below the damp proofing to allow the walls to dry out (which is well under way) The next stage is for us to lay a new concrete floor and the plan is to fill the trench with gravel and lay a pipe with holes in (sorry don't know what this is called) underneath it to provide ventilation...

Now this is where we are getting into a debate and have two alternative opinions.

1) We run the pipe around the edge of the room and vent it directly to the outside through the wall at ground level. The worry with this is that the floor will be very cold in the winter.

2) We run a pipe up to the attic where the air is warmer, use a small fan to push this air down and under the floor, then vent into the cellar. The idea with this is that warmer air would be passed under the floor.

So my question really is which method would be most effective, and more importantly would either of them be a big no-no which would damage the house?

Thanks

Mike

Sponsored Links