Veritas 8 - Help Please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I have recently moved in to a house that has Veritas 8 alarm system installed in it. I would be thankful (a lot) if you could help me with the following, as I am new to it. Advance appologies for any "silly" questions.

1. Is Veritas 8 a good alarm system?

2. If it is not, could you suggest an alternative option, please? Having read some comments on this forum I am not keen on wireless system.

3. The current alarm is not working adequatly as the TEMPER light comes up.
Please could you suggest possible reasons for that and how this could be sorted out.

I am having the meintenance contractor (that the previouse owner of the house used) round tomorrow to investigate the matter. But it would be nice to hear your view as I would like to learn about the system a bit.

Any help/advice is more than welcome.

Many thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Hi,

Yes, the Veritas 8 is a good alarm.

The Tamper light can be illuminated for a variety of reasons; a broken or disconnected wire, the panel may have been opened, a detector lid may have been removed, a fault with the outside sounder, a remote keypad going offline etc.

Do you have the user code and the engineer code for it?

You might be better to get a local alarm company to fix it rather than a "maintenance contractor" unless by maintenance contractor you mean an alarm company that previously maintained it?

Paul

Texecom make some pretty good security gear, I started installing Texecom equipment quite a few years ago, and they have given me very little in the way of problems.

They do 2 ranges of panels, the Premier, aimed at Industrial, commercial and large domestic properties, and the Veritas this is more for the average domestic install (Pro & DIY)

As Paul has already stated, you will need at least the "User" code and to do any re-programming etc you will require the "Engineers" code.