Veritas Excel part set help

Joined
22 Mar 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All, firstly thanks for taking the time to read and help it's much appreciated.

My first alarm install has gone really well got to grips with dialler, EOL and everything else and the alarm is working great. One thing has got me totally stumped and I would really appreciate some help.

I have set up a part set 1 which turns hall PIR (Zone 4) to Ent/Exit and front door (Zone 1)to guard for night time no problem, come downstairs PIR picks you up and entry exit tone starts, front door trips alarm if you enter without crossing hall PIR, perfect.

What I want to do is create another part set (part set 2) where both the hall PIR and front door are Ent/Exit and I just cant seem to get it sorted, when I program part set 2 it appears to lose all the settings for part set 1.

I am obviously doing something wrong.......... Thanks for your time all.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
2 Feb 2016
Messages
2,060
Reaction score
394
Location
Newark
Country
United Kingdom
Screenshot_20210322-205158.png
Follow instructions as per attached.
 
Joined
20 Jun 2014
Messages
5,773
Reaction score
756
Location
Lancashire
Country
United Kingdom
Firstly:-

What Zones do what functions full set:-

Been a while but from memory you have part sets

51,52,53,54 which have the zones in use
20 which part sets change zone types
21 change into e/e part set
22 change to inhibited entry in part set
23 change to guard in part set

so full, set 1 e/e and 4 inhibited entry
part 1, zone 1 guard and zone 4 e/e (1 and 4 change function)

you cant then change

part 2 to zone 1 e/e and zone 4 e/e (1 doesn't change function from full set but does from part set, based in change in part 1 zone 1 would become guard)

To be fair think this could only be done on an Orisec panel. I am having think though.

Where you can set each zone type in full set and each part set
 
Joined
22 Mar 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks Handymanjo and secureiam,

Handymanjo I followed the install manual and I'm still clueless but it may be that secureiam has the answer.

Secureiam you are spot on with the shortcut numbers, it must be down to my understanding of "part sets". What you say would make sense as when i program part set 2 its effectively overwriting part set 1 that I created.

That just leaves me with one question then, what on earth is the purpose of having 4 different part sets? I guess all you can really do is omit zones in each set but have a common change in zone type across all of them, would that be correct.

I only have one option really to set part set 1 to zone 1 and 4 entry exit that should work.

Many thanks for your replies
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Jun 2014
Messages
5,773
Reaction score
756
Location
Lancashire
Country
United Kingdom
basically yes, you might be able to fudge it if you have a spare zone.

and block out zone 1 in part set two from being used and vice versa with the spare zone

but you need to write it down on paper and plan it and then try it, rather than an extra zone you could look at splitting the door contact on the door across two separate zones.

however I don't have a Veritas let alone one capable of EOL, to test and I would have to sit down for some time to get t straight in my head how it could be done.
 
Joined
22 Mar 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for your help Secureiam. I see what you mean about the fudge, ill give it a go after i've had a think about it and see if I can get it to work. I have to confess I'm really pleased with the panel, it does everything I need apart from this. EOL was a laugh to start with but makes perfect sense now. Half of me wants to replace it with an elite so I have even more to play with but I'd only end up filling this forum up.

Thanks for your time again and all the best.
 
Joined
20 Jun 2014
Messages
5,773
Reaction score
756
Location
Lancashire
Country
United Kingdom
If you are interested at looking at this further pm me, I have split a PIR over two zones using resistors on an elite panel but it isn't pretty but appears to be reliable but would need refining and testing on the veritas to see if its reproducible on there also.
 
Joined
30 Oct 2003
Messages
269
Reaction score
23
Location
Worcestershire
Country
United Kingdom
I only have one option really to set part set 1 to zone 1 and 4 entry exit that should work.

I have the Excel with this same configuration - it never crossed my mind to change the front door to guard. The thinking was that if the alarm is set and someone is out then you can still enter without triggeering the alarm. This has never happened but the option is there
 
Sponsored Links
Top