Vertical Cracking in Wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have recently built a block shed (single skin) with a timber roof.

The walls were completed in October 2017. Today I found a crack in one of the walls. It starts at the top, and it goes halfway down. It's cracked on the inside as well as the outside.

The floor around that area looks solid. It's built predominantly on clay and the footings were filled concrete.

Weird thing is that the crack has occurred directly behind one of the support pillars:

xZFoed9.jpg

Here's the outside:

R5pu3o9.jpg

This is how far down it goes (about halfway):

Vfy22t4.jpg

The crack is 1.5mm wide at the widest gap, otherwise, it is 1mm wide (inside and out).

Truth be told I'm new to all of this and I am quite worried. I've put a lot of time, effort, and money into my shed. Can someone advise me, please?

Thanks all.

Sponsored Links
Is not a structural issue, but any crack in render needs dealing with as it lets in water and degrades the render over time.

Easiest thing to do is gouge it a little and fill it with a clear silicone, or if you are painting it, use a polymer or polysulphide product.

Monitor it.

Sponsored Links
Is not a structural issue, but any crack in render needs dealing with as it lets in water and degrades the render over time.

Easiest thing to do is gouge it a little and fill it with a clear silicone, or if you are painting it, use a polymer or polysulphide product.

Monitor it.
That's a relief! Thanks Woody, I appreciate the advice.

Yes, I'll be painting it (soon) so I'll get on to it.

At the risk of being a pain, can you recommend a good product for filling in please?

Thanks again.

Last edited: