1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Visonic Powermax System Jammed problem.

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by burnie35, 2 Apr 2019.

  1. burnie35

    burnie35

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So the above alarm has displayed system troubles and beeping every minute or so, thought it may have been a low battery warning but no, it's system jammed troubles. Had a look at booklet and Google and it seems it's an RF problem. Nothing has changed in my house that I can think of that could cause the problem.
    Is there any way to remedy the situation as from what I could see in the booklet there is no info to do this.

    Cheers.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,812
    Thanks Received:
    1,342
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As mentioned before...wireless central heating controller ?
     
  4. burnie35

    burnie35

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only things that have changed were a Google Home Mini and a new central heating controller (not wireless) so not considering those two. However, went through a process of elimination starting with wifi, then bluetooth off on mobiles and then cordless phones (3 of them as in a townhouse) and it's now working properly. Possibly the phones but after 7 years, why would they cause a problem now.
     
  5. Sally2000

    Sally2000

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    447
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The wall plug switching mode power supplies often generate electrical noise, and this can get worse as they age. Worth checking.
     
  6. burnie35

    burnie35

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    House is approx 9 year old, and I think I replaced the sockets nearest the alarm control box about 3 years ago.
     
  7. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,812
    Thanks Received:
    1,342
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wireless door bell ? New street lighting ?
     
  8. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,361
    Thanks Received:
    672
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    like most things if you cant find it n your own home it may be outside your home.

    do the street lights have aerials, how close are they to your house, and I am guessing you don't have the visonic panel capable of frequency hopping?
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,812
    Thanks Received:
    1,342
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or next doors ....
     
  11. burnie35

    burnie35

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's working now but why after almost 8 years would these things interfere with the alarm. Also is there anything I could do to stop this if it happens again if it comes from outside the home.
     
  12. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,361
    Thanks Received:
    672
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because a lot can change, street lamps with 868 coms may have been introduced during this time and could have gone faulty, a neighbour could have had wireless heating control where batteries ran low and now they have changed them.

    Realistically not a lot other than opt for a frequency hopping panel which yours isn't, but that would mean replacing the entire wireless system.
     
  13. BERNARD S BUCHWEITZ

    BERNARD S BUCHWEITZ

    Joined:
    9 Aug 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is the difference between Visonic Powermax and Powermaster Systems.

    I have also found that when a sensor goes faulty, it can also transmit continuously, thus giving a jamming signal.
     
  14. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,361
    Thanks Received:
    672
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    not as old as the last thread but 6 months old none the less, but fair point being made.
     
  15. MadBob

    MadBob

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have had this intermittent System Jammed problem, and have figured it out, just bear with me.

    My Microsoft 4000 wireless mouse was playing up on my laptop, I now realise that this happened after moving the USB dongle to a port on the other side of the laptop so I could attach a NAS drive, the mouse was stuttering across the screen when using it, I was thinking it could be failing, also trying to figure out if I had installed anything that could be causing this.

    I am googling for Visonic System Jammed error while the mouse was playing-up and my brain suddenly connected the two issues, I have moved the dongle back to the other side and both issues have now disappeared.

    SO you can add "have you just moved your Laptop or USB dongle" to the list of random things that upset alarms.

    If I turn the laptop so the dongle is pointing towards where my Visonic alarm has been for many years, the error starts up again.

    Hope this helps someone else.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page