vokera 20-80 flowmatic so much wrong

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi i'm new to this so i hope i'm in the right place.the above boiler has a number of probs most of which i think i have in hand but the ch exp vessel is shot and my plumber tells me its an off the wall job to replace it.Can i fit an external exp vessel and if so what is the best way to plumb it in.I just read a very heated debate about this for another boiler and I think it should be doable quite easily but as i am carpenter would like a bit of advice on

1 does it have to be plumbed on the return as the fill loop is on the flow and this seems to be the easiest place to connect.
2 do I have to cap off the old one or can I just leave it as is.
3 only a 2 bed semi 7 rads what size vessel do i need.
4 do I need another prv (don't see why i should).
5 would it be better to disconect the pipe from the original vessel and connect (somehow) to this.

Any help much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
If maintainance clearance are in place, expansion vessel can be replaced without taking the boiler off the wall. I would check the vessel again; have changed vessels on other Vokeras but seldom on the Flowmatic

1) I would put it on the return
2) Leave it as is
3) 10l
4) No
5) If you can but you will be struggling i.e. you will have to remove the vessel to get the pipe and use same to reroute to new vessel which becomes pointless as new like for like vessel replacement would be easier.

What problem do you have that makes your plumber say it needs replacing.

well i pushed the pin in the valve and water came out so i guess that means the diaphragm is shot.