Vokera Syntesi 35 DHW firing then cutting out

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by robmorphet, 16 Apr 2005.

  1. robmorphet

    robmorphet

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, have a Vokera Syntesi 35 which must be 18 months old. Its been running okay since we moved in although the DHW is not red hot and runs cold if you turn the tap/shower on too fast.

    Trouble now is the DHW won't run. It will fire up and then within 15 secs drop down to an idle burn (if that makes sense?).

    I've turned the dial up to max and that now runs the DHW to a warm heat but the water flow is down to a trickle.

    I've searched for this and can't find any answers - any help would be greatly appreciated - have the handbook here for ref but can't find anything that relates to it.

    Any help greatly appreicted.

    Rob,
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    24,299
    Thanks Received:
    1,407
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A 35kW boiler should have been giving you very good water - all other things being equal.
    If turning the knob makes a difference then the first thing I'd be checking would be the DHW flow temp sensor. But without knowing what resistance it should be, not so easy.
    Always a contender too is the diverter/diaphragm/flow switch, whatever's fitted - that you'll have read about.
     
  4. robmorphet

    robmorphet

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for the reply! So a blocakge wouldn't cause the problem as it would be consistant throught the heat range?

    There's two thermistors - one on the main heat exchanger and one on the DHW heat exchanger manifold.

    As the heating is working fine would you expect it to be the DHW switch?
     
  5. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    24,299
    Thanks Received:
    1,407
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Getting in to guessworks here cos I don't know how it works. It knows the water is flowing, fine. Then it should start the pump (almost certainly). If pump doesn't get switched on it will shut down because the main h/e will get v hot v quick. Once running, the DHW flow sensor would be key.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. robmorphet

    robmorphet

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cheers Chris - I've unplugged the thermistor on the DHW and it produces an error on the control board, so I've ordered a new one (£6) to see if its malfunctioning.

    The pump and everything else seems to be fine so we'll see.

    Thanks for your advice

    Rob
     
  8. corgigazza

    corgigazza

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2004
    Messages:
    2,131
    Thanks Received:
    414
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dhw heat exchanger blocked, check flow in red hot, flow out cold on 22mm pipes from main heat exchanger, if only 18 months old was system power flushed

    lots articles on this do a searchon dhw
     
  9. DP

    DP

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2003
    Messages:
    15,190
    Thanks Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agree with above. Check Benchmark log book. Bet the system has dirty water that has blocked the HW HE
     
  10. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    24,299
    Thanks Received:
    1,407
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I should have said that - I got the idea that the problem had come up suddenly so was thinking that something might have "bust".
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page