Wall Mounted Electric Heater Required

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here and hope you can help me.

I have just had an extension done and looking for a wall mounted electric heater, can someone please recommend one.
Ideally I would like a powerful one and a stylish one, how many Watts do I need to be looking at?

I have been searching the net and come across this site on which I like a few http://www.airandwatercentre.com/store/SEURLF/ASP/SFS/CID.39/SFE/productcategories.htm

What is the difference between electric and oil filled electric heaters and do oil filled give out more heat?

I'm in West Yorkshire, anyone know any shops round here that I can pop into?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
How big is the room ? How well insulated are the walls.

You need to find out how much heat you need. The builder may have a set of figures for heat loss from the calculation of U value ( how good the walls and ceiling are at not losing heat ) which the building inspector may have asked for. But probaly not.

So buy or borrow a fan heater and see if it can heat the room fast enough for you on the first setting which is probably one kilowatt. If it does in this cold weather then a one kilowatt ( or two 500 watt ) heaters will be adequate.

All electric heaters give out the same amount of heat per Kilowatt as electric heaters do not waste heat in flue gases. Oil filled tend to give a more constant heat as they have thermal store in the oil which smooths out the on off of the thermostat

Also what sort of room is it?

Kitchen, lounge bathroom etc

Which bit of West Yorks are you in?

I have an oil radiator - very efficient. on the lowest setting (400w) it heats my room adequately. And on 600w it heats it comfortably in the coldest weather. Silent and smell-less operation. Cant recommend them enough. :D

Sponsored Links
Crafty said: