Wall repair after water damage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am new to plastering but have done a few bits of DIY in the past successfully!

Had a problem with damp that was fixed by a major roofing and repointing job around 6 months ago. It's definitely dry now, but when checking the blown plaster whole chunks of it fell away and left old crumbly/dusty exposed mortar. This pretty much distentgrated on contact to expose the bricks.

My question is how to fix this? It's a small area and the surrounding bits seem pretty solid (see photos). What kind of render or concrete should I use to fill the hole before plastering?
And what do I need to know about doing all the steps correctly so no cracks will occur?

The pics show upper corner of wall adjacent to ceiling. As well as the hole there is a bit of paper and paint that flaked away. Can this be skimmed also?

Many Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_0547.JPG
    IMG_0547.JPG
    101.1 KB · Views: 332
  • IMG_0548.JPG
    IMG_0548.JPG
    94.5 KB · Views: 312
  • IMG_0549.JPG
    IMG_0549.JPG
    125.1 KB · Views: 318
  • IMG_0550.JPG
    IMG_0550.JPG
    104.7 KB · Views: 314
Sponsored Links
I'm no expert but I'd say hack off everything that's will come off easily, unibond the wall and replaster. First use bonding if browning (if that's what they still use these days) and then skim it with finishing plaster. No doubt I'll be told different!

As above, remove all loose flaky plaster. if the areas are only small, then probably best using a one coat/universal plaster. This can be applied as one coat or two if the areas are deep.

Thanks for the replies. I was wondering if some kind of mortar would need to be used before plastering to fill the deepest parts of the hole (around 2-3cm)
Maybe just 2-3 coats of plaster?
Unibond is 1 part to 5 parts water according to the sticky on this site

Sponsored Links