Want to remove radiator for decorating but a new towel one being fitted in a couple of weeks

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there

I live in a bungalow and have a Vaillant combi boiler.
I want to remove the existing single panel radiator to paint behind it as I am having a new towel radiator fitted in a couple of weeks.
Should I remove it using radiator clamps and refit it after decorating or just drain it and leave it off?
Will the whole system have to be drained to fit the new radiator?
Also lol the pipe centre measurement is 580mm and the radiator pipe centre measurement is 550 how can I get around the difference? Will I be able to make it fit :(
I've never done this before so I have no idea what to do for the best.
Thanks in advance for any advice.
:)

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Should I remove it using radiator clamps and refit it after decorating or just leave it off?

I've never seen a "radiator clamp".
Leave it off unless you need to heat the room.

[quoWill the whole system have to be drained to fit the new radiator?
[/QUOTE]

Normally yes, unless the valves are in the same place.

If the weather is not going to suddenly turn cold I'd turn the heating off, drain the system and remove the radiator. Otherwise turn off the valves, drain the radiator and remove, leaving the valves in place. If one valve is a TRV make sure it is completely off, not on some "frost" setting which might open. Use a decorator's cap for the valve if you have it.

When you come to fit the new radiator you'll need to drain the system anyway, unless you are going to freeze the pipes. Once you've drained it, don't forget to add a litre of inhibitor.

Presumably the pipes for the existing radiator come up out of the floor.