want to replace wallpaper with paint in bathroom-good idea?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
the wallpaper in our bathroom is peeling off and there are some signs/spots of mould so i'd like to take the wallpaper off and paint the bathroom walls. I've never done any decorating before, so have a few questions (apologies if they might sound silly) and would really appreciate any advice.
Firstly, is it good idea? If so, after removing the wallpaper (it was a special wallpaper for bathrooms and lasted for about 8years, bathroom does get steamy), do i also need to remove the plaster underneath and put a new plaster on? if i don't need to remove the plaster on the walls, do i need to treat the old plaster somehow before i can paint? If i need to put a new plaster - any specific brand/make?
Been to homebase and they said that i can use any 'bathroom paint' to paint the walls. Is that right? I've done some search on internet but i'm more confused than i was before so really hoping for some advice from you guys. Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
If you want a really nice finish then it will need 'skimming' but that isn't a job you'll get right first go. If it's a small room better get someone in for a few quid - it'll add more than the cost in value to the house. Then any bathroom paint will do (or eggshell).

Bathroom paint is Acrylic egshell ;) Jo`s right again

you do not have to get the room replastered.

However you do have to remove all traces of the old paste before painting. I like to do it with hot water and a metal scraper, you scrape the slimy paste off and wipe it on a rag or your sleeve.

Patch up any blemishes in the plaster and when you think it is perfectly flat and smooth, give it a couple of coats of matt white emulsion. This will highlight any remaining blemishes.