Washer replacements

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
DA4003C0-F291-43DF-A7BB-433A5BA3E890.jpeg
DA4003C0-F291-43DF-A7BB-433A5BA3E890.jpeg
Hi again
For some strange reason the video will not upload but the photo will!... anyway the water constantly dips ( feels like the hot water) and sometimes just teems .....is it the washers ? If it is how do I change them . any info I would be grateful

Sponsored Links
Unfortunately these are quarter turn ceramic tap inserts and will need replacing.
Many types are available, Lunns.net are one of the best suppliers if you cant find them locally.
John :)

Hi John
As I’m a complete novice
Thanks for that, so do you mean the inserts need replacing or the tap itself
Cheers

Would you be able Togo on the Luna website ( I have) and post a pic of what I need?
I’m a pain

Sponsored Links
Basically, the tap handles need to come off, followed by the chrome shrouds.....this reveals a hexagon that you unscrew to remove the insert.
Unfortunately you’ll need to count the handle splines and measure various other dimensions before the correct insert can be identified :(
The good news is, Lunns et al have a good site with pics.
John :)

My (admittedly limited) experience of ceramic 1/4-turn taps is that the ceramic parts survive but leaks/drips are due to the rubber seal losing its springiness. This is curable by replacing the seal. If you can't source an exact replacement easily it can be cut from rubber sheet. I've done this successfully using 4mm (your mileage may vary) neoprene sheet cut with a length of thin steel strip sharpened on one long edge and bent into a circle of appropriate diameter.

Hi Guys
I am confident I doing this but when you get knocked back on the first step !ie Allen key on the grub screw under the tap won’t budge or just turns ( probably stripped it now ) you tend to lose faith..... I suppose the whole tap will need replacing now? Or any ideas guys
Cheers