Water connection help...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

I've been building a bungalow for the last 3 years, I've done everything myself and the build is more or less completed. Now I have a slight problem with the water connection and i'm looking for some advice.

So when we started the foundations I made the connection to the water supply myself (the water supply only feeds 2 more bungalows, so i kindly told them i was turning the water off for 30mins) 30mins later job completed. I took the 25mm blue water pipe through the ground and into the house ready for a water meter.

Now trying to explain this to welsh water is like talking to one of the brick walls, They want me to re dig and put a new pipe in so they can inspect the trench, It's so much work to do now at this stage and they connection I did was perfectly fine, Not only that they want to charge me £1400 to make a connection witch is ridiculous (Gas was £900, Electric £300)

I had trouble with Welsh water when i was going through the sewerage connection stage.

Any advice what I can do? Is making my own connection braking any laws? It's on private land.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I understood that any water pipes within your boundary are your own business and they take no responsibility.

I suspect that if you just connect things up as you want, they'll come round asking you to have a water meter soon enough!

Of course, I may be completely wrong; I'm not a plumber!

'I made the connection to the water supply myself'

What do this mean? did you simply T into someone elses 25mm supply? Did you make a connection on the public road?

My water company are generally not happy with shared supplies particularly because of the imminent meters.