Water leak under floor/into the cellar

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All. I have had a lot of knowledgeable information from this forum in the past so I'm confident I will get help with this annoying issue.

I'll try best to summarise the issue. Water started to leak into my terraced property cellar around the front in 2013 to which I had Yorkshire Water/Environmental Health/Council come out to check in turn to assess the issue. They dye-tested our water and the neighbours but they came back negative. Also checked the drains for cracks and again negative. So it was left as that. Then the floor at the entrance to the rear of the property started to get gaps under the skirting boards which increased to more than 2 inches towards the beginning of 2015. The floor in that area also started to sag to the point where in mid-2015 it was getting a right bounce as if it was about to fall through. Getting sick of it and thinking the answer lies underneath, I started to take up the laminate, then the floor boards to find the floorboards had dry rot all the way across the window side of the house. Under that 2 joists had absolutely crumbled away (hence the floor sagging). There was water in the soil filled cellar all the way across which was clearly evident. This now seemed a much bigger problem than previously anticipated.