Water leaking through tundish

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm new to unvented hot water systems. Recently I've noticed water leaking through the tundish, it's almost a steady flow.

If I turn on the hot water tap for a few moments it stops running I'm guessingbdue to the drop in pressure. I wouldn't say the hot water is excessively hot.

The cold water mains pressure to my house is in excess of 7.5bar with no prv.l except the one on the boiler set at 6bar I think. Is this the likely cause of the leak?

I've got a plumber booked for the 20th September (earliest availability). Does this require attention before that?

Thanks for the help

Sponsored Links
Hi, I'm new to unvented hot water systems. Recently I've noticed water leaking through the tundish, it's almost a steady flow.

If I turn on the hot water tap for a few moments it stops running I'm guessingbdue to the drop in pressure. I wouldn't say the hot water is excessively hot.

The cold water mains pressure to my house is in excess of 7.5bar with no prv.l except the one on the boiler set at 6bar I think. Is this the likely cause of the leak?

I've got a plumber booked for the 20th September (earliest availability). Does this require attention before that?

Thanks for the help
Have you got a set up like this on the cold mains which includes a PRV normally set to 3.0bar, a expansion relief valve set to normally 6.0bar, this is the one that should be passing into the tundish, if so you probably need the expansion vessel recharged or renewed but probably OK to use until your plumber has a look, if your system doesn't have this set up and PRV is lifting on the HW cylinder then I wouldn't use it.

1692859695047.png

@Johntheo5 I'm not sure, it's quite boxed in which doesn't make it easy to figure out what goes where. I've added some pictures, hopefully makes sense

I'll also add that I checked the water temp coming out this morning and it's hot water.
20230824_082622.jpg

Attachments