Watts Industries Receiver to HIVE for underfloor heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
2484A5D7-D007-4693-B93A-1AA63926DFDE.jpeg
B09A670C-292B-4DB5-A048-BE9390857AB4.jpeg
I’d be really grateful for some help. Have just moved into a property with no handover received. Have discovered we have underfloor heating in the kitchen. Found the wireless receiver unit hidden under a shelf in the utility but no thermostat control. We have installed HIVE for our central heating. Would it be possible to buy another HIVE receiver and thermostat and use that for the underfloor heating? How would I wire it if so (picture attached)

I know it’s probably very simple but I’m new to the DIY game!

many thanks.

Sponsored Links
is it electric or water underfloor heating ? if you dont have a thermostat is the heating working ?

It’s water underfloor. In the eaves there are 3 actuators - CH, HW and underfloor. Heating is controlled through hive thermostat in the hallway. Underfloor heating (I’m guessing) was running off a different thermostat originally as the heating was controlled by Drayton

you could wire it as it is into a single channel hive receiver where the wire in C goes into Com and the wire in 1 goes into NO L&N are obvious, but cant be sure it will work, looks like someone has been messing around with the wiring

Sponsored Links
Thank you ianmcd. That’s what I thought. Interesting you mention the wiring, our electrician who did a safety check found 36 faults - all from the previous owner who had a go himself! (Or a very incompetent electrician!!).

I’ll give it a go.

If you could post a pic of the other end of those cables, it will be a wiring centre , probably next to the zone valves

The actuators on under floor heating do look very like thermostatic radiator valves, I have never removed one to look at it, but it seems likely a Hive TRV would fit, but as to how well it would work is another question.