What am i doing wrong?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everybody,

I am trying to put some large format tiles on a shower cubicle wall. I have tanked the area and now am trying to apply the adhesive. I am using Dunlop set fast plus with a 10mm rad trowel. How do i get the correct thickness on wall? I am mixing in a bucket, transferring to a board then applying to wall with a plastering trowel then putting 10mm rad ribs in horizontally using tilers trowel. Is this the correct method? I am having trouble spreading it thickly enough and evenly. Is there something i am missing? It is going to cost a fortune in adhesive as most of it is ending up on the floor! Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Gary.

Sponsored Links
As a totally non expert tiler, I found it easier to lay a solid bed of adhesive, then use the notches on the trowel to cut the grooves out of the solid bed, if that makes sense!

Hope that is helpful.

Hi Gary. I'm no expert either, but is the mixture thick enough? If it's looser than the readymix stuff then things may get messy. personally I dab the stuff onto the wall,then flatten it with the ungrooved part of the trowel , then when it's reasonably flat I comb it with the grooved part of the trowel. If the walls arent flat and you're using large tiles it might be better to butter up (dab 5 big blobs of adhesive) the tiles.

Hi everybody,