What kind of electric shocks can i expect

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been a plumber for about 1.5 years now, learning on site with my dad's company.

Some times i do simple electrics, for appliances, central heating and lighting

i've had a few close calls, but no shocks yet

i understand some are worse than others, like if your body completes a circuit

what the worse ones to look out for?

Sponsored Links
You need to have a rethink!

For one thing, the The Electricity at Work Regulations 1989 take effect when you're (guess what) working with electricity. You have a legally enforecable duty to prevent danger arising, and that includes danger to yourself.

Also, the Health and Safety at Work etc Act 1974 requires you to secure "the health, safety and welfare of persons at work, for protecting others against risks to health or safety in connection with the activities of persons at work".

To answer your question more directly, the wetter you are, and the higher the voltage, the greater the hazard.

The main principle is not to work on a live circuit. Before considering touching any conductor or terminal, you should 'test for dead', and you need to test in such a way that the possibility of the test equipment being faulty is negligible. Any isolating switch, that you are depending on being open, should be locked to prevent it being switched on inadvertently.

The worst electric shock you should ever experience is that if you leave an electric shower running for a few hours you get big electric bill afterwards

Sponsored Links
all the above could cause death or serious injury.please follow correct isolation procedures and get a sign to hang from the fuseboard to let people know you are working on circuits and they havent just tripped

WRONG! You should always lock off...If you don't, even with a sign, you may suddenly find yourself energised...

LockedOff.jpg

LockedOff.jpg
[/quote]

Secure spark is that your lock,