What part do I need?!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I am a DIY novice. I had Currys over on Saturday to fit my new washing machine, and on arrival the guy doing the installation complained that the previous tenant had taken a part with them that was needed for the waste pipe. He told me I needed to go to B&Q to get a 'waste taper end'. I did, but they only had one size, which was too small. By the time I got back he was gone, and now after going to b&q again, screwfix direct and other places, I can't find the actual part I need.

I think from what he's telling me it's to make sure the waste pipe fits into another pipe and stays there, otherwise when I run my washing machine the pipe will pop out from the pressure and it'll go everywhere.

I just need help on where i can get this part, and what its actual name is. Once I know that I can figure out sizes etc. Can anyone help?

Sponsored Links
Matt, the bit you need is called a nozzle (look at McAlpine Plumbing MA15)......you may find one in the larger sheds or Homebase etc but obviously they usually come with the new waste fitting.
Fingers crossed that the threads are the same.....
John :)

Just above were your washing machine pipe goes in on the black bit your overflow pipe is missing also

• Thanks
Reactions: CBF
Is there a whole part i'm missing then, or just the nozzle? If it's easier to get a whole part I can do.

Sponsored Links
Just above were your washing machine pipe goes in on the black bit your overflow pipe is missing also

yes i was going to say that, i wonder if the sink doesn't have an overflow & they have used that for the w/m.