What should I use to fill the gap between my door frame and patio?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All!

I've noticed a damp on my concrete floor coming from under the front door, so had a look and there is a huge gap between the tiles and the threshold as seen in the pics.

Obviously I would need to fill it out with something that is waterproof to stop the damp. What would be the best material to use? Silicone? Mortar? Or something else?

I'd really appreciate any product or technique recommendations to rectify this.
Thank you!

Attachments

• 50835153_435211913889379_3628901538648293376_n.jpg
    50835153_435211913889379_3628901538648293376_n.jpg
    416 KB · Views: 659
  • 51097593_399660114142728_30003125406400512_n.jpg
    51097593_399660114142728_30003125406400512_n.jpg
    393.9 KB · Views: 556
Sponsored Links
You could try and point it with something but I think the floor outside it too high.

I am an expert at overthinking, procrastinating, and being wrong...
So with that out of the way...

More pics please, from further away and from the side... and what's the rubber strip to the RHS?

What kind of coverage is there from eaves? Is this exposed to driving rain? Is there a fall going the wrong way- towards the house?
If no to both, then I was considering that as well as an entry route for moisture, the gap will be offering a drying route also, which might be the preferred route to drying through your floor. Maybe leave it open.

If there is a good fall going in the right direction on those slabs, and a lot of rain is slung at your front door, then a strip of CT1 would function to carry the water from cill to paving stones...
You could use cement but if the cill moves a lot with being walked on, then it may just crack in time.

Hi, thank you for your replies guys I do appreciate it!

The Rubber strip is a door mat :) In general the roof covers the gap, although if there is rain and wind some of the water finds it way there.