What's it like been an Electrician?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After doing extensive DIY wiring on my house and new extension, and finding I thoroughly enjoyed the physical and technical aspect of it, I am half considering investigating how to get qualified and do it as a career.

I have a degree in Chemistry from a top university, but gave up working in laboratories to become a guitar teacher, which is what I am now. I am 28.

So what is it like being an electrician? Does it take long to get qualified? How do I get qualified? Is it a job I could do up until retirement (does the physical aspect get to you after a bit)? Does it pay well? Anything else I would need to consider?

Thanks.

--------------------------------------
The Neighbour of The Beast, 665.

Not an expert, just a damn good amateur.

Sponsored Links
dont bother

there are electricians and electricans, all start off the same but then you have commercial / industrial and domestic then you have the "ologys" with degrees etc.

but it is not an old mans job, there is a LOT of hard graft, pulling in cables that are bigger than your arm, bending conduit, installing brackets for cable tray, the wires have little to do with it.

domestic electricans bash houses for chasing cables etc

its hard graft, as you get older you idealy move onto something easier, why do you suppose maintenance sparks are old?

Hmm, OK, interesting. Thanks.

You see, when I left school (early 90s), everybody was told to go as far as they could in education, there being no jobs and a recession looming etc. So I did.

But the thing is, I really enjoy hard graft: I worked in a concrete pipe factory for 2 weeks for work experience, have laboured for my builders for 16 weeks solid and as I said, done extensive work on my house. "An honest day's work" and all that.

Fair enough though, I'm comfortable enough, and get paid very reasonably to play guitar all day.