Qualified Electrician but not Part P

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I hope someone can help i am a qualified electrician and have been for 40 years.I moved to work on the high voltage side of the syetem a few years ago so do not have part p .Iam completing a loft conversion under a full plans appplication .The lighting and power circuits will be extensions of the existing circuit and not notifiable .As for the bathroom light and extractor fan Part P that extra low voltage lighting CE marked and pre assembled with connectors are exempt does this mean they do not come under part As for the bathroom fan this will be outside the bathroom and just the vent inside the bathroom i am assuming this will classed as an extension to the lighting circuit

Comments Please ;)

Sponsored Links
1st comment:

Part P applies to all work on fixed electrical cables or fixed electrical equipment located on the consumer’s side of the electricity supply meter which operate at low or extra-low voltage and are—
(a) in or attached to a dwelling;
(b) in the common parts of a building serving one or more dwellings, but excluding power supplies to lifts;
(c) in a building that receives its electricity from a source located within or shared with a dwelling; or
(d) in a garden or in or on land associated with a building where the electricity is from a source located within or shared with a dwelling.

It applies to work which is not notifiable just as much as it does to notifiable work.

2nd comment:

The issues of what is or is not notifiable are irrelevant in your case, because you have notified the work. Which means that your LABC are aware of electrical work being done which comes within the scope of Part P.

So...

1st question:

When you submitted your application, what did you say, or what did you allow to be said on your behalf, or what LABC default assumption did you tacitly accept about what would be done to ensure that the electrical work will comply with P1?