Whats the secret to no lines from the float?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My 1st go at plastering today ... I am a total novice - trying to skim a small 1x2m area of wall ...

Whats the secret to no lines from the float?

When I smooth it over with the float I keep getting lines from the edge of the float .....

Is it the float I am using ... a cheap'ish Wickes metal one, or my technique?

Any tips much appreciated ...

Sponsored Links
Good on you for having a go! Very difficult to explain the answer to your question. It definitely comes with experience,, and using a new "trowel", (it's not called a float),, will not help,,, just because it is "new". It's all to do the feel of the trowel, the pressure you put on the trowel, the angle of the trowel etc. When you run a trowel over a plastered surface, the front, (toe) of the trowel is barely touching the plaster. A light pressure ( via the handle), is being applied to the other end of it, (the heel).
You can buy trowels that are "broken in,,,, with the corners slightly rounded off,, but to be honest, that wouldn't help much until you learn the technique of using a trowel. Practice on small areas will help more than anything.

First of all it is called a trowel a float is what is used in rendering ,Years ago a float was used to bring the "fat" up when skimming tho..