Plastering Waves.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm a novice plasterer - have just skimmed my 3rd wall. The walls had previously been plastered but it's in poor condition - skim was cracked, flakey and falling off. So I scraped off any loose plaster, PVA'd (5:1 night before, 3:1 shortly before putting on the mud) and re-skimmed.

My first wall was pretty dire due to lack of prep but the others are OK. That is to say, they look really smooth to the eye - even when you stick a halagon on them. However, when I run my hand up and down them I can detect a very slight wave in the plaster. Is this normal?

If not, how do you stop it?

I have a couple of floats (cheap B&Q and Marshalltown) and noticed a huge difference between them. Therefore, would be interested to know if there are better makes?

Also, out of interest - what are the plastic floats for? I did say I was a novice!?

James

Sponsored Links