What's this junk..

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
ok, so it's my first time ever fitting a slotted waste for a sink with an overflow. I get it out of the box and admire...

There's the metal threaded bit (threaded right the way up to the underside of the head), and on it (in this order) a slim rubber gasket, a plastic ring, a fatter rubber gasket that is flat on one side, and a brass nut

Looking at it, there's no way that plastic washer would achieve a good seal against the basin, so I figure it goes between the brass nut and the flat side of the fatter gasket. Seems the slim gasket goes under the head/inside the sink bowl

But even then I really can't see how this is supposed to become watertight:
The metal head of the threaded bit touches the sink porcelain as though the slim gasket isn't thick enough. Also nothing will keep water from running down the overflow, through the threads and out, and even if I sealed the threads up with PTFE, I'm sure it would escape out of the interface between plastic washer and brass nut

The other slotted waste I have might be a bit better, as it has no plastic washer, just a plastic nut that presumably could be thread sealed with PTFE, and compress the bigger gasket against the sink underside enough to get a seal. Appreciate that the pressure is much lower in this application but it just seems so ill thought out. Why not have an unthreaded section of waste, a nice triangular gasket, some washers to hide the unthreaded section and a nut to push it all in(like a standard compression waste connector)

Am I missing something?

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
I don't use black rubber washer at all, only the polywasher, PTFE and plumber putty, that all, been doing that for years.

Daniel.

Sponsored Links