Where to buy wood to build a box?

OM2

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want to build some boxes.
Most 1m long and 30cm or 40cm in depth or height.

Where can I buy the wood from?
I've seen ads from Selco sometime ago £0.90 for 1m of decking wood.
That would be quite nice I think.
Or was I just imagining that price - seems super cheap even when you add VAT.

And what clamps would I need to buy to join while gluing?
I thought I'd ask for recommendations before looking at eBay or Amazon.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Guess you have never made a box before? You can't just glue decking together what are they for? will be very heavy made from decking.?

Guess you have never made a box before? You can't just glue decking together what are they for? will be very heavy made from decking.?
yep. complete newbie. :)
i've seen videos online where you line up planks, glue in between and clamp.
dont want to invest in a pocket jig thing to angle drill unless i have to.
+ i've looked at some old boxes we have from ikea and it it doesnt seem all that hard.
i just wanted to give i a go as a 2 hour project.
+ we need boxes of different dimensions around the house - and i cant find anywhere where they sell just a basic box - rough and unfinished look.

You will need to nail or screw to get a box that does not fall apart.

Sponsored Links
You will need to nail or screw to get a box that does not fall apart.

i wanted to make much bigger. 1m width the first one
1.5m width the second one! :)

the only thing i'm worried about is the best place to buy wood from?

need to know how and where it will be uses and load and likly use and abuse before anything can be discussed