1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Which cable to run up to loft?

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by datadiyer, 6 May 2020.

  1. datadiyer

    datadiyer

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I've had a loft conversion done and I'm finishing the inside myself. I have the chance to run a media cable through the floor but just wondered which one?
    I have virgin media via a router downstairs. So should I run a network cable, a long HDMI cable or something else?
    Any help would be appreciated.
    TIA.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,807
    Thanks Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Both if you have any sense...depending on what you want to achieve
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. datadiyer

    datadiyer

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure what I want to achieve unfortunately. I just wanted to make it 'future proof in case we have Amy media devices up loft.
     
  5. johnny2007

    johnny2007

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    1,086
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Aerial (coax), hdmi, lan, telephone.
    I run all of them in mine and don't regret it.
    The only problem is that someone of great wisdom decided that it was a good idea to pull the coax from the walk in wardrobe downstairs, so now i have no aerial up there and rely on a portable .:cry::cry::cry:
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,496
    Thanks Received:
    777
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Coax - Yes. It's a wideband connection suitable for Freeview, Freesat and VM router (if you use triple-shielded HD100 coax). I'd run two or three to cover most bases.

    HDMI - No. The standards are still changing, and although sending bog standard 1080p HD over 10-15 mtrs is easy, you won't get much more than 5m on copper cable at 4K and even less when 8K hits. Use Cat6 cable (×2 +1 spare) and then add devices called Baluns on either end to convert 1080p/4K plus a control signal to in to something that can travel 20-30m.

    Network cable - Yes, but bare-end copper Ethernet not the aluminium-based extension leads with the plugs fitted. This is because of speed and reliability. 1x live and 1x spare will cover it.

    Some may advise just using wireless as new technologies seem to offer Gigabit-busting data speeds. Wireless should be included in your house plan, but it can't always be relied on; there are too many ifs, buts and maybes that will drag the speed down. A bit of copper cable running at Gigabit speeds will be 25 times faster than you need for streaming BT's Ultra Hi Def 4K sports which is currently the most data-hungry streaming service.

    If this or any other reply was helpful to you, then please do the decent thing and click the T-H-A-N-K-S button. It appears when you hover the mouse pointer near the Quote Multi-quote buttons. It costs you nothing. This is the proper way to show your thanks for the time and help someone gave you.
     
    Last edited: 7 May 2020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. datadiyer

    datadiyer

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks lads,
    Great info there. Just thought also perhaps a bit of coax drilled through and coiled up outside in case I put an aeriel onto chimney.

    Thanks again .
     
  9. BenCos18

    BenCos18

    Joined:
    16 May 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Ireland
    I would put some electrical tape over the bare end of the wire though if your leaving the cable outside btw
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Tigercubrider

    Tigercubrider

    Joined:
    22 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    3,285
    Thanks Received:
    503
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not the answer you want but imho a route is the best thing you can leave.
    Some kind of trunking to accommodate any future need, along with a bit of string
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. datadiyer

    datadiyer

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, I was thinking the same, there's a bit of flooring put down dry just above where the pipework runs down to room underneath. I have a nice bit of that blue 25mm MDPE pipe left over which should do nicely
     
  12. hcanning

    hcanning

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ethernet - definitely
    Aerial - definitely, if it's easy
    You could run some RG6 coax to allow for extension of Virgin Media services (i.e. another set top box), if you can get it to the right place
    HDMI - what's the point? Any media devices will be located up there, surely?
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page