Which tile adhesive?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Which tile adhesive should I use for 60x60cm porcelain floor tiles? The floor is concrete that has an area that has been self levelled & there is a small section that has been boarded? I was thinking to use a flexible adhesive? Also which size trowel would be better for this large of a tile?

Sponsored Links
I'm currently laying 60 x 60 porcelain tiles myself, albeit on wood joists with 18mm chipboard floor with 6mm tile backer board. I'm using this adhesive and I'm happy with it as it has a long pot life (up to 8 hours). I find the rapid set far too stressful as I'm only a novice diy tiler. I've used a 10 mm trowel but think 12mm would be even better. Make the notch lines straight and back butter the tiles, no problems so far.

I'm currently laying 60 x 60 porcelain tiles myself, albeit on wood joists with 18mm chipboard floor with 6mm tile backer board. I'm using this adhesive and I'm happy with it as it has a long pot life (up to 8 hours). I find the rapid set far too stressful as I'm only a novice diy tiler. I've used a 10 mm trowel but think 12mm would be even better. Make the notch lines straight and back butter the tiles, no problems so far.
Which adhesive are you using?

Sponsored Links
I used a mapei standard set flexible as well, 600mm tiles on cement board over timber. I used a 10mm square notched trowel and I'd use the next size up next time - the was just one tile that seemed to bottom out. You should be able to work out the required trowel size - they all produce a specific bed thickness and you're supposed to ascertain the deviation of the floor, and the tile (something like a straight edge across the back and measure the dip in the middle) and size accordingly.

Given that iirc, the actual bed is half (square) or a third (round) of the notch it will do no harm to err on the side of caution.